Bienvenue sur le Pennine Sentier transcanadien

Une côte nationale à la route de la côte pour les loisirs et le transport - pour les randonneurs, cyclistes et (dans les parties) cavaliers

Trans Pennine Trail logo
Trans Pennine Trail logo

Bienvenue sur le Pennine Sentier transcanadien

Une côte nationale à la route de la côte pour les loisirs et le transport - pour les randonneurs, cyclistes et (dans les parties) cavaliers

Traffic-free cycling – WestVélo sans circulation - West

Entre Southport et le Peak District il ya beaucoup de section où vous pourrez profiter gratuitement du trafic vélo. Longez les anciennes lignes de chemin de fer, suivez long de l'estuaire de la Mersey, explorer la vallée Mersey supérieure ou la vallée de Tame, ou monter dans le cœur du Peak District. Elles sont idéales pour les familles avec de jeunes enfants, cycliste inexpérimenté ou ceux qui veulent rouler sans vous soucier de la circulation.

Pour tous les détails de ces routes sans circulation visiter notre magasin pour obtenir une copie du sentier Trans Pennine occidentale Carte.


Sefton – Cheshire Lines pathSefton - chemin Cheshire Lines

Ce est une section de l'ancienne voie ferrée allant de Plex Moss jusqu'à Maghull (environ 6 miles). En supplémentaire, la section depuis le début de la piste à Southport à Ainsdale est également hors route, Mais à côté de la route côtière avec un couple de franchissements routiers de sorte qu'il ne est pas adapté aux très jeunes enfants. Une courte section de la route mineur relie ces deux pièces ensemble.

Accès: Il ya un parking où Carr Lane traverse le sentier. Vers le nord sur Lydiate (sur la route A5145 Southport), tourner à gauche dans la route station, puis à droite dans la ruelle de Punnell et tout droit dans Carr Lane.

Aménagements: Il ya des magasins et des installations à proximité dans Lydiate et Maghull

Voir itinéraire sur Google Maps


Liverpool Loop LineLiverpool ligne de boucle

Après la ligne ferroviaire à travers la vieille est de Liverpool Aintree à Halewood Country Park (environ 10 miles). Ceci passe par bouturage boisées et vers l'extrémité nord offre une vue étendue sur la ville.

Accès: Il ya un parking à Halewood Country Park Visitor Centre sur Okell dur. De la jonction M62 6 prendre la A5080 à Huyton. Lors de la première série de feux de circulation, tournez à gauche dans Whitefield Lane. Au croisement en T, à gauche dans Netherley Road, puis première à droite dans Greensbridge Lane. Puis tourner à droite dans Cartbridge Lane, signalisées Forum Bridgefield. Tourner à droite à l'intersection en T, puis tout droit au rond-point dans Okell dur. Suivre la route et vous trouverez le centre d'accueil et d'un parking sur la gauche. Cette section du sentier peut également être accessible à partir de Halewood, Hunts Cross, Broad stations vertes et Aintree.

Aménagements: Il ya des magasins et des installations à proximité de la piste, y compris à Woolton, West Derby, Gateacre et Broad Lane (Sainsburys). Proximité de la route est le Centre national de Wildflower en Cour Hey Parc avec un café.

Voir itinéraire sur Google Maps


Widnes – Pickerings PastureWidnes – Pickerings Pâturage

Courir le long des quais de l'estuaire de la Mersey à travers la réserve naturelle locale Pickerings Pâturage (environ 2 miles). Un couple de courtes sections sur les routes mineures lien cette section à la section Canal Sankey (dessous) pour un voyage plus.

Accès: Il ya un parking à Pickerings Pâturage Visitor Centre. Après son arrivée sur Runcorn pont, prendre la deuxième glisser l'A533 jusqu'au rond-point et tourner à gauche dans la route Ditton, suivre ce Hale Banque et tourner à gauche dans Mersey View Road pour accéder au Centre d'accueil. Suivre les panneaux touristiques marron pour Pickerings Pâturage.

Aménagements: Il ya des toilettes au centre de visiteur.

Voir itinéraire sur Google Maps


Widnes / Warrington – Sankey (St Helens) CanalWidnes / Warrington – Sankey (St Helens) Canal

Suivez le chemin de halage du canal de Spike Island jusqu'à Sankey Bridges (environ 4 1/2 miles) offrant une vue sur l'estuaire de la Mersey. Un couple de courtes sections sur les routes mineures lien cette section à la section Pickerings Pâturage (dessus) pour un voyage plus.

Accès: Il ya un parking à Spike Island Visitor Centre et le Centre Discovery Science Catalyst. De la sortie 7 de la M62 suivre la A557 à Widnes et suivez les panneaux touristiques marron à Catalyst. Depuis le sud, après son entrée sur Runcorn pont (A533) suivre les panneaux touristiques marron à Catalyst.

Aménagements: Il ya des toilettes et un café dans le catalyseur, (Le centre est bien mérite une visite pour les familles) et un pub à Fiddlers Ferry Marina.

Voir itinéraire sur Google Maps


Warrington / Althrincham – Thelwall to Broadheath railpathWarrington / Altrincham – Thelwall à Broadheath Railpath

Après l'ancienne ligne de chemin de fer de Thelwall via Lymm, Heatley à Altrincham (environ 7 miles). Il ya un centre d'information Ranger Service à Lymm et la propriété Dunham Massey du National Trust est juste à côté de cette section de la piste.

Accès: Il ya un parking au chalet Ranger (sur le site de l'ancienne gare) Lymm – suivre les indications pour le sentier de la A56 et A6144 à Lymm. Il ya aussi un parking sur le noir Moss Road, à l'extrémité orientale de cette section. De la sortie 7 de la M60 suivre la Une 56 Altrincham, après être passé sous le pont de chemin de fer tourner à droite dans la 3ème rue Atlantique. Suivez ce à la fin et le parking est en face.

Aménagements: Il ya un certain nombre de pubs long de l'itinéraire et locales installations à Lymm. Il ya des toilettes à la cabane Ranger à Lymm (Tel 01925 758195 pour vérifier les horaires d'ouverture).

Voir itinéraire sur Google Maps


South Manchester – Mersey ValleySouth Manchester - Mersey Valley

Après les rives de la rivière Mersey travers la vente et parcs aquatiques Chorlton (2 1/2 miles). Une section calme court route relie cela à une autre section hors route à l'ouest (Un autre 2 miles).

Accès: Cette section est la plus facilement accessible du parc aquatique Chorlton (jonction 5 du M60, sur la A5103 vers le centre-ville, tourner à gauche sur l'A 5145 puis à gauche dans l'avenue Maitland) ou la vente du parc aquatique (suivre les panneaux de la sortie 6 du M60).

Aménagements: Il ya des toilettes et d'autres installations à la fois des parcs aquatiques et un pub sur la route au pont Jackson.

Voir itinéraire sur Google Maps


Reddish ValeStockport - rougeâtre Vale

Grâce rougeâtre Vale Country Park, Stockport (environ 2 miles) et relier à d'autres routes dans le parc.

Accès: Il ya un parking disponibles au Centre des visiteurs (Mill Lane, Rougeâtre), Tiviot Dale (hors Tiviot Way A626 adjacentes à la jonction M60 27), Woodhall champs (hors rougeâtre route B6167), Creuse Fin, Brinnington.

Aménagements: Il ya des toilettes et d'autres installations du centre d'accueil.

Voir itinéraire sur Google Maps


Tameside – Haughton Dale and Apethorn to Godley railpathTameside - Haughton Dale et Apethorn à Godley Railpath

Un itinéraire à travers le calme vallée boisée de la rivière Tame avant une montée jusqu'à la Apethorn à Godley Railpath (environ 3 1/2 miles au total).

Accès: Cette section peut être accessible à partir de Stockport route (A6017) ou un parking sur Meadow Lane, Haughton Dale (hors Haughton Green Road).

Aménagements: Cette section est dans une vallée boisée il ya donc pas d'installations sur la route, mais il ya des installations locales à Hyde et Denton.

Voir itinéraire sur Google Maps


Peak District – LongdendalePeak District - Longdendale

Magnifique vue sur les collines de Peak District sont tout autour que vous suivez la ligne ferroviaire vieille de Hadfield jusqu'à la vallée pour Torside et à l'ancienne gare Woodhead (environ 8 miles), et si vous vous dirigez à l'est de sa descente tout le chemin du retour! De Woodhead vous pouvez continuer hors route pour une nouvelle 2 miles sur le point sur le Pennine Sentier transcanadien plus – tandis que le début de ce est une colline escarpée, cela vaut la peine pour admirer la vue! Un sur la section de route se connecte alors cette section pour Dunford pont, le début d'une autre section de circulation libre au long. Il ya trois franchissement de route très fréquentée entre Woodhead et Dunford pont.

Accès: Il ya un parking à la gare routière, Hadfield (signé Longdendale Trail au large de la A628 et A57. Il est un milieu de parking le long de cette section par le réservoir Torside (signé au large de la route B6105). Le Trail à Hadfield 100m de la station (avec des services réguliers à destination de Manchester).

Aménagements: Il ya des toilettes publiques, café et commerces à Hadfield. Il ya des toilettes, informations visiteur, et des rafraîchissements disponibles au parking Torside.

Voir itinéraire sur Google Maps

Sections centrales sans circulation

Couvrant Leeds à Chesterfield, y compris Barnsley et de Sheffield.

Sections de libre-circulation-Est

Couvrant Barnsley à Hornsea.

Voir la carte interactive pour les cyclistes

Consultez notre carte interactive.

partager cette

Select your language

EnglishNederlandsFrançaisDeutschItalianoEspañol

.

Accessibility help

A A A

Welcome to the Trans Pennine Trail

A national coast to coast route for recreation and transport – for walkers, cyclists and (in parts) horse riders

Trans Pennine Trail logo

Welcome

A national coast to coast route for recreation and transport – for walkers, cyclists and (in parts) horse riders

Traffic-free cycling – WestTraffic-free cycling – West

Between Southport and the Peak District there are many section where you can enjoy traffic free cycling. Ride along old rail lines, follow along the Mersey Estuary, explore the upper Mersey Valley or the Tame Valley, or ride into the heart of the Peak District. These are ideal for families with young children, inexperienced cyclist or anyone who wants ride without the worry of traffic.

For full details of these traffic-free routes visit our shop to get a copy of the Trans Pennine Trail Western Map.


Sefton – Cheshire Lines pathSefton – Cheshire Lines path

This is a section of old railway line running from Plex Moss through to Maghull (approx 6 miles). In additional, the section from the start of the Trail at Southport to Ainsdale is also off-road, but alongside the coast road with a couple of road crossings so it isn’t suited to very young children. A short section of minor road links these two pieces together.
[spoiler show=”Read more and view map…”]
Access: There is a car park where Carr Lane crosses the Trail. Heading north out of Lydiate (on the A5145 Southport Road), turn left into Station road, then right into Punnell’s Lane and straight over into Carr Lane.

Facilities: There are shops and facilities nearby in Lydiate and Maghull

View route on Google Maps

[/spoiler]


Liverpool Loop LineLiverpool Loop Line

Following the old rail line across the east of Liverpool from Aintree to Halewood Country Park (approx 10 miles). This passes through wooded cuttings and towards the northern end offers extensive views over the city.
[spoiler show=”Read more and view map…”]
Access: There is a parking at Halewood Country Park Visitor Centre on Okell Drive. From the M62 junction 6 take the A5080 to Huyton. At the first set of traffic lights turn left into Whitefield Lane. At the T-junction turn left into Netherley Road and then first right into Greensbridge Lane. Then turn right into Cartbridge Lane, signposted Bridgefield Forum. Turn right at the T-junction and then straight on at the roundabout into Okell Drive. Follow the road around and you will find the Visitor Centre and car park on the left. This section of Trail can also be accessed from Halewood, Hunts Cross, Broad Green and Aintree stations.

Facilities: There are shops and facilities near to the Trail including at Woolton, West Derby, Gateacre and Broad Lane (Sainsburys). Close to the route is the National Wildflower Centre in Court Hey Park with a café.

View route on Google Maps

[/spoiler]


Widnes – Pickerings PastureWidnes – Pickerings Pasture

Running along the waterfront of the Mersey estuary through Pickerings Pasture Local Nature Reserve (approx 2 miles). A couple of short sections on minor roads link this section to the Sankey Canal section (below) for a longer trip.
[spoiler show=”Read more and view map…”]
Access: There is parking at Pickerings Pasture Visitor Centre. After coming over Runcorn Bridge, take second slip off the A533 to the roundabout and turn left into Ditton Road, follow this to Hale Bank and turn left into Mersey View Road to access the Visitor Centre. Follow the brown tourist signs for Pickerings Pasture.

Facilities: There are toilets at the visitor centre.

View route on Google Maps

[/spoiler]


Widnes / Warrington – Sankey (St Helens) CanalWidnes / Warrington – Sankey (St Helens) Canal

Follow the canal towpath from Spike Island through to Sankey Bridges (approx 4 1/2 miles) affording views across the Mersey estuary. A couple of short sections on minor roads link this section to the Pickerings Pasture section (above) for a longer trip.
[spoiler show=”Read more and view map…”]
Access: There is parking at Spike Island Visitor Centre and the Catalyst Science Discovery Centre. From junction 7 of the M62 follow the A557 to Widnes and follow the brown tourist signs to Catalyst. From the south, after coming over Runcorn Bridge (A533) follow the brown tourist signs to Catalyst.

Facilities: There are toilets and a café in Catalyst, (the centre is well worth a visit for families) and a pub at Fiddlers Ferry Marina.

View route on Google Maps

[/spoiler]


Warrington / Althrincham – Thelwall to Broadheath railpathWarrington / Altrincham – Thelwall to Broadheath railpath

Following the old rail line from Thelwall via Lymm, Heatley to Altrincham (approx 7 miles). There is a Ranger Service Information Centre in Lymm and the National Trust’s Dunham Massey property is just off this section of the Trail.
[spoiler show=”Read more and view map…”]
Access: There is parking at the Ranger Cabin (on the site of the former station) in Lymm – follow the signs for the Trail from the A56 and A6144 in Lymm. There is also a car park on Black Moss Road at the eastern end of this section. From junction 7 of the M60 follow the A 56 to Altrincham, after going under the railway bridge turn 3rd right into Atlantic Street. Follow this to the end and the car park is opposite.

Facilities: There are a number of pubs along the route and local facilities in Lymm. There are toilets at the Ranger Cabin in Lymm (Tel 01925 758195 to check opening times).

View route on Google Maps

[/spoiler]


South Manchester – Mersey ValleySouth Manchester – Mersey Valley

Following the banks of the River Mersey through Sale and Chorlton Water parks (2 1/2 miles). A short quiet road section connects this to another off-road section to the west (a further 2 miles).
[spoiler show=”Read more and view map…”]
Access: This section is most easily accessed from Chorlton Water Park (junction 5 of the M60, onto the A5103 toward the city centre, turn left onto the A 5145 then left into Maitland Avenue) or Sale Water Park (follow the signs from junction 6 of the M60).

Facilities: There are toilets and other facilities at both of the water parks and a pub on route at Jackson Bridge.

View route on Google Maps

[/spoiler]


Reddish ValeStockport – Reddish Vale

Through Reddish Vale Country Park, Stockport (approx 2 miles) and linking into other routes in the park.
[spoiler show=”Read more and view map…”]
Access: There is car parking available at the Visitor Centre (Mill Lane, Reddish), Tiviot Dale (off Tiviot Way A626 adjacent to M60 junction 27), Woodhall Fields (off Reddish Road B6167), Hollow End, Brinnington.

Facilities: There are toilets and other facilities at the visitor centre.

View route on Google Maps

[/spoiler]


Tameside – Haughton Dale and Apethorn to Godley railpathTameside – Haughton Dale and Apethorn to Godley railpath

A route through the quiet wooded valley of the River Tame before a climb up to the Apethorn to Godley railpath (approx 3 1/2 miles total).
[spoiler show=”Read more and view map…”]
Access: This section can be accessed from Stockport Road (A6017) or a car park on Meadow Lane, Haughton Dale (off Haughton Green Road).

Facilities: This section is in a wooded valley so there are no facilities on route, but there are local facilities in Hyde and Denton.

View route on Google Maps

[/spoiler]


Peak District – LongdendalePeak District – Longdendale

Wonderful views of the Peak District hills are all around as you follow the old rail line from Hadfield up the valley to Torside and on to the former Woodhead station (approx 8 miles), and if you head east its downhill all the way back! From Woodhead you can continue off-road for a further 2 miles over the highest point on the Trans Pennine Trail – while the start of this is up a steep hill, it is worth it to admire the view! An on road section then connects this section to Dunford Bridge, the start of another long traffic-free section. There are three busy road crossing between Woodhead and Dunford Bridge.
[spoiler show=”Read more and view map…”]
Access: There is a car park at Station Road, Hadfield (signed Longdendale Trail off the A628 and A57. There is a car park midway along this section by Torside reservoir (signed off the B6105). The Trail in Hadfield 100m from the station (with regular services to Manchester).

Facilities: There are public toilets, cafe and shops at Hadfield. There are toilets, visitor information, and refreshments available at Torside car park.

View route on Google Maps

[/spoiler]

Central traffic-free sections

Covering Leeds to Chesterfield, including Barnsley and Sheffield.

East traffic-free sections

Covering Barnsley to Hornsea.

View main map for cyclists

Overview map of the TPT for cyclists.

Share This