Herzlich Willkommen auf der Trans Pennine Trail

Eine nationale Küste zu Küste Weg zur Erholung und Transport - für Wanderer, Radfahrer und (teil) Reiter

Trans Pennine Trail logo
Trans Pennine Trail logo

Herzlich Willkommen auf der Trans Pennine Trail

Eine nationale Küste zu Küste Weg zur Erholung und Transport - für Wanderer, Radfahrer und (teil) Reiter

Traffic-free cycling – CentralVerkehrsfreie Radfahren - Zentrale

Im zentralen Teil des Trail gibt es viele Meilen von autofreien Rad-, genossen werden. Fahrt entlang der alten Eisenbahnlinien, Zyklus durch die Ausläufer der Pennines, erkunden Sie die Dearne und Don Valleys, erkunden Kanal Treidelpfad durch Landschaft oder in Städten und Gemeinden. Diese sind ideal für Familien mit kleinen Kindern, unerfahrene Radfahrer oder jeder, der ohne die Sorge der Verkehr fahren will.

Für vollständige Details dieser autofreien Routen besuchen Sie unseren Shop, um eine Kopie des Trans Pennine Trail Zentral Landkarte.


Barnsley: Dunford Bridge to PenistoneBarnsley: Dunford Bridge to Penistone

Im Anschluss an die Woodhead Eisenbahnlinie im Osten der Pennines entlang der oberen Don Valley der attraktiven Marktstadt Penistone (ca. 6 Meilen).

Zugang: Es gibt Parkplätze am Dunford Brücke (von der A628 und A616 unterzeichnet) und Penistone (hinter dem Markt, von der A628 unterzeichnet). Der Trail kann auch direkt aus Penistone Station zugegriffen werden.

Anlagen: Es gibt Toiletten, Geschäfte usw. in Penistone.

Anzeigen Route auf Google Maps


Barnsley: Penistone to Old MoorBarnsley: Old Moor Penistone

Fahren Sie entlang der alten Bahnlinie und Tracks über Worsbrough zu RSPB Old Moor (ca. 10 Meilen). Sie benötigen zum Ausschalten des Bahn bei Oxspring, wo eine sehr kurze Straßenabschnitt (Kinder konnten Rad Fahrrad auf dem Bürgersteig) führt Sie auf Willow Lane, ein malerisches Packesel Route, aber mit einem Aufstieg! Off road Radwege und eine Farm Spur dann führen Sie zurück auf die alte Bahnlinie bis hin zu Old Moor.

Zugang: Es gibt Parkplätze am Penistone (hinter dem Markt, von der A628 unterzeichnet), bei Worsbrough Mill und Country Park (die A61 abgemeldet) oder am RSPB Old Moor Reserve (abseits der A633 unterzeichnet). Der Trail kann auch direkt aus Penistone und Silkstone Bahnhöfe zugegriffen werden.

Anlagen: Es gibt Toiletten, Geschäfte usw. in Penistone, und Geschäfte und Gastronomie in Silkstone Gemeinsamen. Am Worsbrough, gibt es Toiletten im Country Park und Toiletten und ein Café am Wigfield Farm westlich von Worsbrough (einen Besuch mit Kindern lohnt). Am Alten Moor, gibt es ein Café, Toiletten und Shop am RSPB Website.

Anzeigen Route auf Google Maps


Barnsley: Penistone to GrenosideBarnsley: Penistone zu Grenoside

Folgen Sie der alten Bahn Osten von Penistone, aber Oxspring über Thurgoland Tunnel zu Wortley weiter (ca. 4 1/2 Meilen), dann auf Waldwegen durch Wharncliffe Woods zu Grenoside (eine weitere 6 Meilen).

Zugang: Es gibt Parkplätze am Penistone (hinter dem Markt, von der A628 unterzeichnet), bei Wortley gibt es einen Parkplatz hinter dem Reitzentrum (abseits der A629 südlich von Wortley Dorf unterzeichnet) oder zumin Wharncliffe Woods (Woodhead Straße, nördlich von Grenoside). Der Weg kann auch von Penistone Station zugegriffen werden.

Anlagen: Es gibt Toiletten, Geschäfte usw. in Penistone und Geschäfte in Grenoside.

Anzeigen Route auf Google Maps


Barnsley: Upper Denby Penistone

Von Penistone der Trail führt von Millhouse Grün nach Ober Denby. Entlang des Weges finden Sie die malerischsten Gegenden von High Bank Quarry die jetzt offenen Zugang Land besuchen, nehmen in Aussicht auf Scout Dike Res und Royd Moor Res. (Wanderroute ca. 4.75 Meilen)

Zugang: Es gibt Parkplätze in der Nähe des Bahnhofs Penistone.

Anlagen: Es gibt viele Betriebe innerhalb Penistone, Thurlstone und Ober Denby.

Zeige auf Google Maps


Kirklees: Ober Denby Lower Cumberworth

Einige dieser Strecke kann manchmal eine Herausforderung sein, aber die Aussicht ist spektakulär. Ausgehend von Ober Denby Sie der Beschilderung durch Denby Dale folgen, Skelmanlthorpe, Nieder Cumberworth und Shelley – mit der Chance auf eine Fahrt mit dem Kirklees Light Railway nehmen! (Wanderroute ca. 3.5 Meilen)

Zugang: Parkplatz vorhanden, aber auf der Roadisde (B6155) in der Nähe von St. Johann-Kirche. Pick-up die Anzeichen für Kirklees, die mit einem Reitweg Abschnitt beginnen wird.

Anlagen: Lokale Geschäfte in Ober Denby.

Zeige auf Google Maps


Kirklees: Senken Cumberworth zu Kirkburton

Wiederum kann dieser Abschnitt eine Herausforderung sein, aber die wunderschönen Dörfer entlang des Weges sind sicherlich einen Besuch wert. (Wanderroute ca. 4.5 Meilen)

Zugang: Es ist einfach zu holen die TPT Zeichen aus Nieder Cumberworth zu Plonker Lane oder Shelley Woodhouse Lane, die Sie in Kirkburton finden wird, Reisen über Shepley und Shelley.

Zeige auf Google Maps


Barnsley – Elsecar GreenwayBarnsley: Elsecar Greenway

Folgen Sie den Spuren parallel zur stillgelegten Barnsley Kanal vom RSPB Old Moor zu Elsecar Heritage Centre (ca. 3 Meilen). Es gibt ein paar Straßen zu überqueren.

Zugang: Es gibt Parkplätze am Elsecar vom Heritage Centre oder am RSPB Old Moor Reserve (abseits der A633 unterzeichnet). Der Trail kann auch aus Elsecar Station zugegriffen werden.

Anlagen: Es gibt Toiletten, Café und Geschäfte in Elsecar Heritage Centre. Am Alten Moor, gibt es ein Café, Toiletten und Shop am RSPB Website. Auf dem Weg Der Weg führt ein Fachmarktzentrum mit einem Supermarkt und anderen Einrichtungen

Anzeigen Route auf Google Maps


Leeds – Aire and Calder Navigation towpathLeeds - Aire und Calder Navigation Leinpfad

Von Thwaite Mills Museum folgen dem Treidelpfad nach Süden bis Mickletown (ca. 5 Meilen). Bitte beachten Sie, dass es derzeit eine Stufenbrücke südlich von Thwaite Mills das Heben und Tragen Sie Ihr Fahrrad auf Leinpfad Ebene erforderlich. Sie können auch den Leinpfad in Richtung Innenstadt auf die Königliche Waffen folgen, aber es gibt einen kurzen Abschnitt der Straße, die beschäftigt sein können und wäre nicht geeignet für kleine Kinder sein. Diese Strecke verbindet auch in neue Offroad-Strecken, die in der Kippax Linesway und Zukunft St erstellt werden. Aidan Country Park in der Nähe von Mickletown.

Zugang: Es ist ein Parkplatz von Thwaite Mills (folgen Sie den Museums Anzeichen von wichtigen Strecken in die Stadt), bei Woodlesford Station und Flotten Lane, Oulton (abseits der A642)

Anlagen: Es gibt Toiletten am Thwaite Mills Museum und lokalen Einrichtungen in der Nähe Woodlesford und Mickletown.

Anzeigen Route auf Google Maps


Wakefield – Barnsley CanalWakefield - Barnsley Canal

Der Leinpfad des stillgelegten Barnsley Kanal von Walton bis zur Old Royton folgt einer bewaldeten Strecke und stellenweise durch eine felsige Schlucht geschnitten (ca. 3 1/4 Meilen). Anglers Country Park ist ein guter Ort, um diesen Abschnitt der Trail zu erkunden. Eine kurze Straßenabschnitt (300m) im Old Royston Verbindung zu einem anderen Abschnitt der Trail entlang des Kanals (eine weitere 2 Meilen).

Zugang: Es gibt einen großen Parkplatz am Anglers Country Park (von der A638 bei Crofton und von der A61 bei Notton ausgeschildert / Woolley Crossroads)

Anlagen: Am Anglers Country Park gibt es ein Besucherzentrum, Café, Toiletten und Fahrradabstellplätze. Der Golfclub in der Nähe von Walton (am nördlichen Ende dieses Abschnitts) hat auch ein Café zur Verfügung, um Menschen auf der Spur.

Anzeigen Route auf Google Maps


Rotherham / Derbyshire – Rother Valley to ChesterfieldRotherham / Derbyshire – Rother Valley nach Chesterfield

Rotherham – Rother Valley Country ParkFollow die alte Bahnlinie von Rother-Tal bis in Staveley (ca. 5 Meilen). Sie haben dann die Wahl der Position entlang der Chesterfield Canal Leinpfad zu Tapton Sperre Visitor Centre (weitere 4½miles) oder weiter entlang der Bahnlinie nach Green oder Umleitung aus, um Pools Brook Country Park Inkersall. Eine Kombination von ruhigen Straßen und Offroad Kapitel Link Inkersall Grün Chesterfield Station. Eine kurze, aber belebter Straßenabschnitt können Sie die Schleife, um Tapton Sperre vervollständigen.

Zugang: Es gibt genügend Parkplätze am Rother Valley Country Park (im Sommer laden) die von der M1-Übergang unterzeichnet 31. Es gibt auch Parkplätze an Renishaw (auf der A616) und Pools Brook Country Park (abseits der A619 bei Staveley). Chesterfield Station macht auch ein guter Ausgangspunkt.

Anlagen: Bei Rother Valley Country Park gibt es ein Café, Besucherzentrum, Fahrradverleih und Wassersportzentrum (www.rothervalleycountrypark.co.uk). Erfrischungen und Toiletten sind am Tapton Sperre Besucherzentrum erhältlich, und Toiletten am Pool Brook Country Park und in Staveley. Es gibt auch Geschäfte und Kneipen in Renishaw.

Anzeigen Route auf Google Maps


Sheffield / Rotherham – Tinsley Canal

Sheffield / Rotherham – Tinsley Canal
Entlang dem Kanal Leinpfad von Meadowhall in die Mitte des Rotherham (ca. 2 Meilen), auf dem Weg konnte man in der preisgekrönten Magna Science Adventure Centre anrufen (folgen Sie dem ausgeschilderten Strecken-Weg). Sie können auf dem gleichen Weg zurück oder nutzen den Zug. Der Trail führt auch Westen von Meadowhall entlang Five Weirs Gehen Sie in Sheffield (5 Meilen), dies ist vor allem Offroad, mit einigen ruhigen Straßenabschnitte, die als geeignet für ältere Kinder würden.

Zugang: Verwenden Sie den Zug nach entweder Meadow oder Rotherham Stationen, oder Parkplätze stehen in der Nähe von jeder Station.

Anlagen: Es gibt genügend Einrichtungen in der Stadtmitte Meadow und Rotherham. Es gibt ein Café und Toiletten bei Magna.

Anzeigen Route auf Google Maps

Westen verkehrsfreien Abschnitten

Abdecken Southport mit dem Peak District.

East verkehrsfreien Abschnitten

Abdecken Barnsley zu Hornsea.

Informieren Sie sich über Hauptkarte für Radfahrer

Übersichtskarte der TPT für Radfahrer.

Teile das

Select your language


.

Welcome to the Trans Pennine Trail

A national coast to coast route for recreation and transport – for walkers, cyclists and (in parts) horse riders

Trans Pennine Trail logo

Welcome

A national coast to coast route for recreation and transport – for walkers, cyclists and (in parts) horse riders

Traffic-free cycling – CentralTraffic-free cycling – Central

In the central part of the Trail there are many miles of traffic free cycling to be enjoyed. Ride along old rail lines, cycle through the foothills of the Pennines, explore the Dearne and Don Valleys, explore canal towpaths through countryside or into cities and towns. These are ideal for families with young children, inexperienced cyclists or anyone who wants to ride without the worry of traffic.

For full details of these traffic-free routes visit our shop to get a copy of the Trans Pennine Trail Central Map.


Barnsley: Dunford Bridge to PenistoneBarnsley: Dunford Bridge to Penistone

Following the Woodhead rail line on the east of the Pennines along the upper Don Valley to the attractive market town of Penistone (approx 6 miles).

Access: There is car parking at Dunford Bridge (signed from the A628 and A616) and at Penistone (behind the market, signed from the A628). The Trail can also be accessed directly from Penistone station.

Facilities: There are toilets, shops etc in Penistone.

View route on Google Maps


Barnsley: Penistone to Old MoorBarnsley: Penistone to Old Moor

Continue along the old rail line and tracks via Worsbrough to RSPB Old Moor (approx 10 miles). You need to turn off the railway at Oxspring, where a very short road section (children could wheel bike on the pavement) leads you onto Willow Lane, a picturesque packhorse route but with a climb! Off road cycle lanes and a farm lane then lead you back onto the old rail line all the way to Old Moor.

Access: There is car parking at Penistone (behind the market, signed from the A628), at Worsbrough Mill and Country Park (signed off the A61) or at the RSPB Old Moor reserve (signed off the A633). The Trail can also be accessed directly from Penistone and Silkstone rail stations.

Facilities: There are toilets, shops etc in Penistone, and shops and pub in Silkstone Common. At Worsbrough, there are toilets in the Country Park and toilets and a café at Wigfield Farm just west of Worsbrough (worth a visit with children). At Old Moor, there is a café, toilets and shop at the RSPB site.

View route on Google Maps


Barnsley: Penistone to GrenosideBarnsley: Penistone to Grenoside

Follow the old railway east from Penistone, but at Oxspring continue via Thurgoland Tunnel to Wortley (approx 4 1/2 miles), then on forest tracks through Wharncliffe Woods to Grenoside (a further 6 miles).

Access: There is car parking at Penistone (behind the market, signed from the A628), at Wortley there is a car park behind the equestrian centre (signed off the A629 just south of Wortley village) or at Wharncliffe Woods (Woodhead Road, just north of Grenoside). The trail can also be accessed from Penistone station.

Facilities: There are toilets, shops etc in Penistone and shops in Grenoside.

View route on Google Maps


Barnsley: Penistone to Upper Denby

From Penistone the Trail takes you from Millhouse Green to Upper Denby. Along the way you will visit the picturesque areas of High Bank Quarry which is now open access land, take in views of Scout Dike Res and Royd Moor Res. (route approx 4.75 miles)

Access: There is parking in Penistone near the station.

Facilities: There are lots of establishments within Penistone, Thurlstone and Upper Denby.

View on Google Maps


 Kirklees: Upper Denby to Lower Cumberworth

Some of this route can be challenging at times but the views are spectacular. Starting from Upper Denby you will follow the signs through Denby Dale, Skelmanlthorpe, Lower Cumberworth and Shelley – with the chance to take a ride on the Kirklees Light Railway! (route approx 3.5 miles)

Access: Parking available but on the roadisde (B6155) near St John’s Church. Pick up the signs for Kirklees which will start with a bridleway section.

Facilities: Local shops in Upper Denby.

View on Google Maps


Kirklees: Lower Cumberworth to Kirkburton

Again this section can be challenging but the wonderful villages along the way are certainly worth a visit. (route approx 4.5 miles)

Access: It’s easy to pick up the TPT signs from Lower Cumberworth to Plonker Lane or Shelley Woodhouse Lane which will take you into Kirkburton, travelling via Shepley and Shelley.

View on Google Maps


Barnsley – Elsecar GreenwayBarnsley: Elsecar Greenway

Follow the Trail parallel to the disused Barnsley canal from RSPB Old Moor to Elsecar Heritage Centre (approx 3 miles). There are a few roads to cross.

Access: There is car parking at Elsecar by the Heritage Centre or at the RSPB Old Moor reserve (signed off the A633). The Trail can also be accessed from Elsecar station.

Facilities: There are toilets, café and shops in Elsecar Heritage Centre. At Old Moor, there is a café, toilets and shop at the RSPB site. On route the Trail passes a retail park with a supermarket and other establishments

View route on Google Maps


Leeds – Aire and Calder Navigation towpathLeeds – Aire and Calder Navigation towpath

From Thwaite Mills Museum follow the towpath south to Mickletown (approx 5 miles). Please note that there is currently a stepped bridge just south of Thwaite Mills which necessitates lifting and carrying your bike down to towpath level. You can also follow the towpath towards the city centre to the Royal Armouries, but there is a short section of road that can be busy and would not be suitable for young children. This route also links into new off-road routes that are being created in the Kippax Linesway and the future St. Aidan’s Country Park near Mickletown.

Access: There is parking by Thwaite Mills (follow the museum signs from major routes into the city), at Woodlesford station and Fleet Lane, Oulton (off the A642)

Facilities: There are toilets at Thwaite Mills Museum and local facilities in nearby Woodlesford and Mickletown.

View route on Google Maps


Wakefield – Barnsley CanalWakefield – Barnsley Canal

The towpath of the disused Barnsley Canal from Walton through to Old Royton follows a wooded route and in places is cut through a rocky gorge (approx 3 1/4 miles). Anglers Country Park is a good place to explore this section of the Trail from. A short road section (300m) at Old Royston connects to another section of the Trail along the canal (a further 2 miles).

Access: There is a large car park at Anglers Country Park (signposted from the A638 at Crofton and from the A61 at Notton / Woolley Crossroads)

Facilities: At Anglers Country Park there is a visitor centre, café, toilets and cycle parking. The golf club near Walton (at the north end of this section) also has a café available to people on the Trail.

View route on Google Maps


Rotherham / Derbyshire – Rother Valley to ChesterfieldRotherham / Derbyshire – Rother Valley to Chesterfield

Rotherham – Rother Valley Country ParkFollow the old rail line from Rother Valley down to Staveley (approx 5 miles). You then have a choice of heading along the Chesterfield Canal towpath to Tapton Lock Visitor Centre (a further 4½miles) or continuing along the rail line to Inkersall Green or diverting off to Pools Brook Country Park. A combination of quiet roads and off road section link Inkersall Green to Chesterfield station. A short but busier road section allows you to complete the loop to Tapton Lock.

Access: There is ample parking at Rother Valley Country Park (charge in summer) which is signed from the M1 junction 31. There is also parking at Renishaw (on the A616) and at Pools Brook Country Park (off the A619 at Staveley). Chesterfield station also makes a good starting point.

Facilities: At Rother Valley Country Park there is a café, visitor centre, cycle hire and watersports centre (www.rothervalleycountrypark.co.uk). Refreshments and toilets are available at Tapton Lock Visitors Centre, and toilets at Pools Brook Country Park and in Staveley. There are also shops and pubs in Renishaw.

View route on Google Maps


Sheffield / Rotherham – Tinsley Canal

Sheffield / Rotherham – Tinsley Canal
Cycle along the canal towpath from Meadowhall into the centre of Rotherham (approx 2 miles), on the way you could call in at the award winning Magna Science Adventure Centre (follow the signposted link route). You can return on the same route or use the train. The Trail also runs west from Meadowhall along Five Weirs Walk into Sheffield (5 miles), this is mostly off road, with some quiet road sections that would be suitable for older children.

Access: Use the train to either Meadowhall or Rotherham stations, or parking is possible near to each station.

Facilities: There are ample facilities in Meadowhall and Rotherham town centre. There is a café and toilets at Magna.

View route on Google Maps

West traffic-free sections

Covering Southport to the Peak District.

East traffic-free sections

Covering Barnsley to Hornsea.

View main map for cyclists

Overview map of the TPT for cyclists.

Share This